This annual prize acknowledges and encourages editors starting out on their careers.

It has been offered by the Mason Publishing Trust each year since 2011 to a graduate of the Diploma in Publishing (Applied).

The prize remembers Andrew Mason, a well-known editor who died in 2009. Mason was a widely admired book editor who worked on some of New Zealand’s most significant publications, and was literary editor of the New Zealand Listener from 1981 to 1991.


Recipients of the Andrew Mason Prize for Most Promising Editor

  • 2017 Samantha Chorley
  • 2016 Grace Thomas
  • 2015 Petra Westropp
  • 2014 Isaac Snoswell
  • 2013 Abby Aitcheson
  • 2012 Amber Carter
  • 2011 Kylie Sutcliffe

One Response to Andrew Mason Prize for Most Promising Editor

Whitireia logo

Whitireia Publishing
Level 3, 65 Dixon Street

Main Campus
Wi Neera Drive
Porirua City 5240

Programme Leader
+64 4 237 3103

Apply Online
Whitireia Publishing